The break-even point is defined as the level at which sales revenues equal expenses, resulting in no profit or loss for the accounting period.
To calculate the break-even point we must determine:
- The sale price
- Fixed costs
- Variable costs
The sale price is the revenue generated from the sale of the product or service.
Fixed costs are costs which do not vary proportionately with sales volume. They include the cost of insurance, rent and leases.
Variable costs are costs which vary directly with sales volume. They include the cost of goods for resale and sales commissions.
Break-Even Point Formula
S = FC + VC or
S = FC / GM
S = break-even level of sales
FC = fixed costs
VC = variable costs
GM = gross margin as a % of sales
Figure 3 shows a Break-Even Analysis.
Figure 3: An Example of a Break-even Analysis
|Break-even Analysis for Children’s Clothing Retail Store|
|Rent and Utilities||24,000.00|
|Wages and Benefits||22,000.00|
|TOTAL ANNUAL FIXED COSTS||61,100.00|
|GROSS PROFIT MARGIN (GPM)||$|
|Gross Profit Margin||=||Gross Profit
|Break-even Point||=||Total Fixed Costs
Gross Profit Margin
|The retailer in this example must make $152,750 in sales per year or a monthly average of $12,730.00 before any profit is made.|
Click on Worksheet 6.10 to complete a break-even analysis for your business.